Light & Leafy

/rant

Posted on: December 2, 2009

It’s been a really, REALLY long time since something in WoW has actually made me cry. Yet, every time I go to type something today, I want to burst out sobbing. I’m not stupid; I know that hormones are making me more emotional than I need to be.

Is it so much for me to ask you to stand up for the little guy? For the person who can’t defend himself? Is it so much to ask that you recognize that we’ve dealt with this before, on another realm. And we let it get to the point where it destroyed a guild. Ruined friendships.

Maybe I’m wrong and I’m feeling victimized because I’ve been treated as insignificant. But you know what? That’s been happening for a long time and I never asked for us to seek punishment for it. Now it’s happening to people who can’t defend themselves as easily and don’t have as thick skin as I do. And we’re standing on the fucking sidelines, arguing whether or not this is ok.

Weren’t you the one who taught me that no matter how much you care, emotional abuse isn’t ok? Isn’t that what bullying boils down to?

I’d lie if I said I would leave the guild. I won’t, you are my friends, my boyfriend, and usually my backbone. I just can’t say that a letter makes everything better. I can’t say that I would blame the people being bullied if they left if we just said oh, everything’s ok. It’s not. No matter how much we gloss this over, and how much we need to look at it from their point of view, it still needs to be dealt with. People shouldn’t think that they can be mean and get away without so much as a slap on the wrist.

Maybe I shouldn’t be an officer. Maybe I shouldn’t even play. Maybe I’m too emotional, too dramatic to be of any good. But god dammit if you’re not going to stand up for the people being hurt and mistreated, who will? You KNOW none of the people who came to us would lie about this crap.

Don’t let this go. Don’t loose good, helpful people because you don’t want to loose people who have the potential to be just as good and helpful and aren’t living up to it yet.

Please. I don’t think I could look at those people who came to me and asked me for help and say, sorry but there’s not much we can do. We’re the officers. We’re the only ones who CAN do something.

It’s really hard, and really frustrating when you don’t know what to do. When you don’t want to hurt anyone, but know it’s inevitable. When you’ve seen this car crash before, and you feel like you can’t stop it.

Why is it so hard for everyone to love everyone else?

Leave a Reply

