Light & Leafy

Playing With Pug’s — An Adventure as Discipline

Posted on: December 8, 2009

I haven’t done a ten man raid on my priest in a VERY long time. I usually save her for the group I’ve raided with since The Burning Crusade; but between work schedules and lack of desire to play on some of our member’s parts, it’s been quite a few weeks since I’ve found myself in a 10 man before the week’s over. Figuring it was Sunday night, and that Onyxia is not usually a place we need a 3rd healer anyways, I decided to pug it up some. I still could put her head to use and upgrade one of my Ulduar rings. I found a death knight from a guild I had never heard of who was looking for more healers for a 10 man Ony. Sure. Why not? The boyfriend even hopped on his elemental shaman for some Tier 9 action!
I should have known when the death knight answered my innocent, “does everyone know the fights?” with a “Lol. It’s only Onyx.”
I got to the stone before everyone else, even when I was one of the last people invited to the group. As I summoned people, and laughed about my boyfriend’s gear (it’s his 5th 80 to be fair), a giant raid warning popped up: R U DISC OR HOLY?
Me: I’m holy….or discipline I suppose. Why?
RW: IT WOULD BE EASIER FOR YOU TO MT HEL AS DISC
Me: Uh, I don’t think it would be much different either way. I can tank-heal fine as a holy priest. =)
RW: DISC IS FOR TANK HEAL HOLY IS FOR RAID WE HAVE SHAMAN SO WE NEED TANK HEALS
Me:….

Me (to guild and boyfriend): /facepalmbear

Clearly, the raid leader had never played a priest of any kind. I obliged him, because I wasn’t interested in educating him about greater heal or my glyphed guardian spirit or empowered renew. And, I never raid as disc with my guild, so why not?
We killed Onyxia. With the raid leader barking out instructions every single step of the way via raid warnings! Yay for micromanagement! Was it pretty? No. Was I crying and trying to find on my discipline bars my guardian spirit when the resto shaman ran into Ony’s tail (twice!) and flew into the whelp caves? Oh yes. I mourned the loss of my circle of healing and surge of light, though I’d be lying if I didn’t say I felt like a champ bubbling everyone when the adds came pouring out.  Also, not even using half of my mana is OP!
Halfway through her air phase, the raid leader, a handful dps and the tree were down. I was nearly giddy when she finally was brought back to her cave’s floor. We sludged through her last 30%, with half our dps down, and our resto shaman out of mana. Somewhere around 10% I ended up standing next to her front left leg, and a fear threw me in front of her, letting  Onyxia cleave me into oblivion (where is my pretty spirit form to heal everyone? *sniffles*).
It was the kind of run that was so bad, but ultimately successful, that you could laugh through it. I had fun playing with bubbles and Weakened Soul/Grace. Also, Penance makes me giggle. The same way that prayer of mending does because it’s kind of like I’m punching someone to life. Maybe I’m just a sadistic healer….
Leave a Reply

