Light & Leafy

Abolish Disease Doesn’t Cure the Flu

Posted on: January 29, 2010

Damn you viruses for thwarting my dispelly goodness! Random side note – imagine if Blizzard invited viruses into their world. Hey, Arthas baby, instead of developing a plague that’s categorized as a disease (I know, because Professor Putricide routinely diseases my normally handsome boyfriend and turns him into a walking, nomming Abom…who is still kind of adorable in a really strange way), why don’t you do yourself a favor and invent a virus since the magic wielding classes haven’t figured out a way to get rid of those yet.

My raid was called last night due to sickness in multiple households. Primarily those of the main tanks and raid leaders. Really, raids are so much less fun when your warrior runs into Festergut’s room only to fall asleep at the keyboard from the codeine he’s taken to assuage his nausea and body aches. I volunteered to bring people into ToC25, or break into 10 mans. Unfortunately, we had no tanks. And extra dps. Not a good way to break up into 2 10 man teams. And no one really wanted to stick around for ToC 25 man. I swear our 2nd night of raiding is cursed. We’ll clear a good portion of a raid our first night, and be lucky if we ever get back later in the week…

And let’s be honest – I really don’t enjoy raiding very much when Osy isn’t there with me. I have no one to vent to. And in the midst of healing I usually fail to call out the important things. Like Vortices. Or Deep Breath. So, maybe I was being selfish switching to my Shaman and Pally to get their dailies done, then hopping on my baby hunter for the rest of the night. I’ve always advocated that officers of guilds are people too. We should be sure to have fun so we don’t feel burnt out on WoW when our guildies need us most.

But did I do the right thing? Should I have tried harder to get people into a raid, even if meant pugging a quarter of the spots? Should I have suggested going to an old world raid for laughs? Did I let down the people I’m supposed to be leading? I know most of them understand perfectly well when our tanks are sick, there’s not much I personally can do, except make tea and a pot of chicken soup. And I know most of them didn’t want to go into ICC to work on Festergut and Rotface with PuG tanks. That does seem a bit reckless.

I have an enormous guilt complex (I used to actually apologize for hugging people if I didn’t ask them first…). I’ve gotten better, but there’s still a nagging voice in the side of my head telling me I’m not doing enough for others. I mean, it took me almost a week to decide that, yes, it was ok to let my alt use the Battered Hilt she won rather than give it to a non-raiding guildie who mentioned he needed a better weapon. Do any other officers out there also feel a tinge of guilt after having to call a raid? Even when it’s out of your control? The only time I don’t feel bad is on patch day when most of our team is having issues staying online.

In Happier News

My hunter has grown 3 levels in about 2 and half hours of play time. Between heirloom items (she’s rocking the shoulder, bow, and chest piece) and the dungeon finder, I’ve been LOVING bringing her to instances. She’s quested some in the interim (gotta keep Sprinkles active so my cute turtle doesn’t get excessively chubby), but the one problem I’m seeing with all this dungeoning is that her professions have definitely started to lag behind. I don’t want to buy tons of herbs to feed her inscription, but at the same time, I haven’t had any drive to take her and make sure her herbalism has caught up. Right now, I’m eyeing the idea of playing her as I wish until 58, then not bringing her to Outlands until she has everything up to date.

Bailey, mah kitteh, and Sprinkles, mah turtle, are the same level now. So I don’t feel like I’m neglecting any of my pets. I feel like such an emotional pack-rat. I know of hunters who have swapped pets because of dps changes or because one looks cooler than the other. I can’t bring myself to do that yet. My pets are special to me. And I so wish I had more than 4 stable slots…

I think I’ve rambled enough for one day. I also think it’s time for me to go eat something for lunch =)

AND! IT’S (ALMOST) THE WEEKEND!!!! YAY!! Let teh fun begin!

Leave a Reply

